The Seriousness Of Recurring DUI Offenses In California

Published: 06th February 2012
Views: N/A

Like most other states in the United States of America, California has begun to adopt a firm stance when it comes to repeat DUI offenders. If you have found yourself being charged with DUI for a second or third time in California, hiring a competent DUI attorney ought to be your top priority. If you are a repeat DUI offender, the penalties in California are serious and unsympathetic. When you have in excess of one conviction for DUI on your driving history, you are viewed as a repeat or multiple offender. Each and every time that you've got a new DUI conviction you then should expect the penalties and fines to become harsher and stiffer than previous penalties. Within the eyes of the courts, your continued refusal to conform to the laws of your state, along with your willingness to place others at an increased risk at your hands when you get driving drunk, demonstrates your total disregard for the lives and well-being of other individuals, not to mention yourself. You are making it obvious that you didn't gain knowledge from your mistakes, and the court takes this very seriously. Usually judges are callous and unforgiving if you're a repeat offender.

Some of the penalties that you will face as a repeat DUI offender include steep fines, time in jail, and also the loss in driving privileges. If you're convicted of repeat DUIs, a legal court may also order that you attend DUI driving school or some such program. Generally, when you're convicted of Dui you might also be assigned to do community service and also regularly report to a probation officer. Moreover, a legal court might mandate that you install a device on your vehicle (at your expense) that determines your sobriety in order to start the car.

If you are a repeat DUI offender, the stiffer penalties help it become particularly important to obtain the services of a knowledgeable DUI attorney. Your DUI lawyer can lessen the consequences of your DUI charge by negotiating on your behalf. If you're facing multiple DUIs in the state of California, then you can expect the examples below:

Your second DUI offense. When you get two DUIs in a period of ten years, it is possible to go to jail for as much as 1 year and pay up to $1000 (more if penalty assessments are taken for special circumstances surrounding the DUI, like driving accompanied by a minor in the car). Your driving privileges may be revoked for 2 years and you may be ordered to attend a drug or alcohol treatment program that can last for as much as 2 1/2 years.

Third DUI offense. Getting three DUIs inside of a ten year period might cause you to head to jail for at least four months and as long as a year. You may be fined $1,000 or even more (again, penalties assessments may be taken), plus your driving license can be taken for as long as three years. You may be instructed to attend a drug or alcohol treatment program for as much as 2 1/2 years.

4th DUI offense. If you get a fourth DUI within the space of 10 years within the state of California, it may greatly boost the amount of punishment that's given. You can be jailed for a minimum of six months and a maximum of sixteen months. You may be fined up to $1000 or more, and also your license may be taken for 4 years. You may be court-ordered into alcohol or drug treatment for an extended length of time.

If you're a DUI offender then your penalties can be extreme. Contacting a DUI attorney as soon as possible after the DUI charge is vital to preserving your freedom.


------

If you need the representation of a Sacramento criminal attorney then contact the Law Offices of Brianne Doyle by calling 916-806-6400 or checking out her website. She's a quality Sacramento criminal defense attorney who can give you the help you need to get through your arrest.

Report this article Ask About This Article


Loading...
More to Explore